Meditation

(Funny….I haven’t written in so many days and now it’s flooding out of me……In the past, I didn’t really have WORDS to describe any of my thoughts or the processes I was going through….I was just kind of absorbing, processing, exploring, adventuring….now I have some words)

I have grown to love meditation. It’s hard for me to sit still, but WOW. When I do, the peace I experience is immeasurable. My ability to re-center myself is stronger and I can more easily state my truth and just move on–not contingent on someone else accepting or approving my truth because it just is.

I started taking another class at the spiritual community I go to. The class is Spiritual Practices. It is a ten week class that teaches you a variety of meditations (ie concentration, mantra, silent, etc) and how to write/say treatments/affirmative prayers. I’m aware of energy and raising vibrations and what you set out into the universe will return to you–what you focus on is what you attract to yourself. A number of months ago, I downloaded a song that is the mantra ‘Guru Guru Wahe Guru Guru Ram Das Guru. I learned the meditation with the mudra (hand positioning) in a kundalini yoga/meditation session I attended. The mantra is a mantra for self-healing, humility, relaxation, protective grace, and emotional. The mantra and the mudra, as I initially learned it is to clear 7 generations back and 7 generations forward. It’s a powerful meditation when done for the 40 day meditation commitment. The first few days that I did it, I cried and couldn’t say the mantra for myself, so I just listened to the music with my right hand on my heart and the back of my left hand on my back, just posterior to my heart (yes….accurate anatomical terms, thanks to my human anatomy class :)).

I’m writing this blog today, because, in conjunction with the requirement of my spiritual practices class, I have found a commitment for myself:
I will listen to the song, on low volume. I will sit or lay down. I will envision my parents, my sister, and my brother. I will say the mantra “I love you unconditionally. I love you because I am love”
I was reading previous posts that I wrote about them and I want to send them love. I don’t know if I can have them back in my life–I don’t know that my spiritual arsenal is strong and reliable enough for that, but I want them to know love. I want to raise my vibration when I have thoughts of them, of our current situation. I want to have a level of gratitude, not pain, when I think of the things they’ve given to me.

I shall go to complete my first practice of that meditation now.

Leave a Reply

