Unconditionally

Listen to that song (yes I know, it’s very poppy and, honestly, I don’t know any other Katy Perry songs….I don’t think I have to). Read the lyrics. Sing it to yourself. Realize that the universe is singing it to you. The first time I heard this song, the title caught my attention, but I was driving and I just kind of zoned out. Then I decided to watch it on youtube and focus on the lyrics.

“There is no fear now. Let go and just be free”

There is no fear now. There is no fear. Let there be no fear.

A couple weeks ago, I realized that I’m scared. When I’m isolated, I’m sad and don’t like the company I keep with myself. When I’m around people and allow them to see me and open myself up (or try to) to receive their love, I’m terrified. But let there be no fear. There is no fear. There is just love. Unconditional love. There is an abundance of love. Tap into the source and it’s there. Fear will keep it locked. Fear has kept me from demonstrating unconditional love. It’s kept me from receiving unconditional love. It keeps my guard up. It keeps the wall of protection. And when unconditional love finds its way in through a weakness in my wall, I panic and it’s terrifying.

There have been times that I wish I wouldn’t wake up in the morning. I had been so deep in the pits of dark depression that I had a plan to take my life because of unconditional fear and hate. With the truth in this song, feeling the power behind the words, it takes the darkness away. It takes the wish to not wake up away. It makes it possible to climb out of the pit. The first verse ‘All your insecurities, all the dirty laundry never made me blink one time.’ I’m cleaning up the dirty laundry with an unconditional and forgiving love for myself. I’m not happy with the dirty laundry, the bad days, but it’s ok. I love myself and it’s all a learning experience. I am experiencing it to learn something–love for myself. I’m lovable. We’re all lovable. We’re all possessing an amazing, beautiful gift within us. Fear and closing off love will inhibit the ability to unlock that gift.

Leave a Reply

